Munster National Rugby | Young Munster Do Cup Double

Young Munster won their ninth Bank of Ireland Munster Junior Cup title with a 35-24 victory over Thomond at Takumi Park and with it secured a Cup double in the Senior and Junior competitions, the last achieved by the club in 1984.

The winners did all the damage in the first half as they took a 28-0 interval lead, but Thomond left himself with too much to do after the break.

A great start from Young Munster saw a break from Luke Fitzgerald set up Donnacha O’Callaghan for a try under the posts and Shane O’Brien converted.

Substitute winger Conor O’Shaughnessy extended ‘The Cookies’ lead with a try after a cross kick and O’Brien converted.

Munster continued to control the game and further tries from Bailey Faloon and Paul Allen, both converted by O’Brien, saw Young Munster lead 28-0 at half-time.

Mike McMahon opened Thomond’s account with a try early in the second half and Adam Guerin converted. A second try from Thomond of Eoghan Sherlock cut the lead to 28-12.

Thomond’s extra pressure was rewarded with a try from Evan O’Connor which Guerin converted, but Young Munster responded with a try from Conor Moloney and Shane O’Brien converted to give ‘The Cookies’ a lead. 35-19 with ten minutes remaining.

Aaron Rice scored a fourth try from Thomond in the dying minutes but it was Young Munster who celebrated on the final whistle.

Thomas: Gary Bateman; Berto Kelly, Eoghan Sherlock, Evan O’Connor, Darragh O’Neill; Adam Guerin, Aaron Rice; Nigel Clancy, Colin Slater, Jordan O’Donnell; Conor Radcliffe, Mike McMahon; Evan Sheehan, Shane Kelly, Kealan O’Shea.

Replacements: Jack O’Shea, Darren Radcliffe, Maksymilian Zerdel, Dean Cronin, Callum Walters.

Young Munster: Jason Kiely; Stephen Lyons, Patrick Ryan, Luke Fitzgerald, Conor Phillips; Shane O’Brien, Donnacha O’Callaghan; Paul Allen, Shane Malone, Colm Skehan; James Horrigan, Craig Hannon; Conor Moloney, Liam Neilan, Bailey Faloon.

Replacements: Kean Sheehy, Gary Hoban, Jack Cosgrave, Aidan Quinlivan, Conor O’Shaughnessy.

Arbitrator: David O’Leary (MAR).

Comments are closed.