Joe Hart had to explain a bizarre incident in the Premier League in 2014
Joe Hart is one of the greatest Premier League goalkeepers of all time.
The former England number one may have seen his career decline at a staggering rate when Pep Guardiola arrived at Manchester City, but there’s no denying the brilliance of his peak years.
Also, we’re talking about the man with the most Premier League Golden Glove awards in history with his four wins in 2010/11, 2011/12, 2012/13 and 2014/15 matched only by Petr. Cech.
Hart’s Game Knowledge
And a major contributor to Hart’s success as one of the best goalkeepers in the world in the early 2010s, as with any top footballer, was his intelligence and footballing IQ.
Hart might not have the footwork Guardiola was looking for at the Etihad Stadium, but he certainly couldn’t complain about the City legend when it came to his understanding of the game.
Also, Premier League boffins might recall an incident during Queens Park Rangers v Manchester City in 2014 which demonstrated that Hart had a better knowledge of the laws of the sport than most.
Even the most seasoned fans and professional players can sometimes be confused by the rules of football, as there are always unique circumstances that can lead to bizarre results.
Just look at a recent question on The Chase about direct free-kicks entering a team’s goal resulting in a corner kick and not a baffling Bradley Walsh change of score to see what we’re talking about.
And the aforementioned incident in QPR vs City was so confusing that Hart actually had to explain the rules to Charlie Austin after the game so he could figure out why an earlier goal had been scored.
That’s because Austin was taken aback when he latched on to a scuffed free kick from Hart, kicked the ball into the back of the net, walked away in celebration and found he couldn’t. not hold.
Why? Because of the “two kicks” rule. Uh no ?
Of course, it’s not obvious, but the fact that Hart scuffed his kick in such a way that he actually made two touches before the ball headed for Austin to score changed everything.
According to the BBC, the Laws of the Game state that free kicks taken by the defending team in their own penalty area must be retaken if the first touch does not leave the area.
Hart said of the bizarre incident at the time: ‘I knew the rules and touched them twice. I had touched him twice with my feet obviously. It’s a mistake and not ideal but the rules are the rules.
“I was looking at Mangala to pass to him because I was aware of Charlie and he kicked my right foot and my left foot and went straight to him.”
According to the Daily Mail, Graham Poll clarified the situation by explaining: “Hart’s free kick was necessary to leave the box before the ball could be considered back in play – so by touching it a second time he prevented the ball to become alive. .”
Hart explains the rule to Austin and Green
Austin wasn’t all that familiar with the game’s more bizarre laws, however, and footage that has amassed over four million views shows Hart explaining them to him and Rob Green full-time.
It just goes to show that you can live and breathe football every day of your life as a fan or player and it doesn’t stop the remarkable odd situation from arising that makes you question your own knowledge.
We hadn’t seen the ‘two kick’ rule before, haven’t seen it since and who knows if we’ll ever see it again, but it’s what made the Loftus Road incident too weird as it was.
News Now – Sports News