Delhi finished dismally 5th in the group stage; Saurashtra and UP qualify for knockouts

Delhi’s dismal spectacle in the domestic season continued as they finished a terrible fifth among six teams after losing to Saurashtra by four wickets in their final Group C championship game of the Vijay Hazare Trophy, here Tuesday.

Saurashtra by virtue of its group leader status with a record wins and 20 points qualified for the quarter-finals with runner-up Uttar Pradesh who finished with 12 points with three wins in five matches.

Delhi hit first again and made their way to 201 for 8, which was also possible thanks to helpful shots from Anuj Rawat (45 out of 57 balls) and skipper Pradeep Sangwan (34 out of 43 balls) .

Jaydev Unadkat (2/26) and Chetan Sakariya (2/29) kept things tight while all-rounders Chirag Jani and Prerak Mankad also got one wicket each.

In response, Saurashtra scored the points losing six wickets in 38.1 overs with Mankad smashing 73 of 63 balls and this is his second half-century in two straight games.

With IPL teams looking for versatile bowling aliens who could be finishers as well, Mankad could get franchises up for auction.

Delhi has now been eliminated from two national white ball competitions before reaching the knockout stage and it remains to be seen what kind of action the Delhi & District Cricket Association (DDCA) is taking to ensure an improved performance in the Blue Ribbon Tournament. of the Ranji Trophy.

In another match, former KKR left-hander Rinku Singh (75) and race leader Ankit Rajpoot (5/33) were the stars of Uttar Pradesh in their complete 78-point victory over Haryana to finish second of the group.

UP scored 245/9 and saved Rinku, none of the others reached the 50 point mark. For Haryana, Indian fashion designer Harshal Patel (3/56) and veteran Mohit Sharma (2 wickets) were the main wicket takers.

Patel also smashed 67 of 61 balls with six sixes, but the rest of the hitters fell short and was eliminated for 167 in 38.5 overs.

In another match, seasoned bowlers Varun Aaron and Shahbaz Nadeem also have three wickets apiece as Jharkhand beat Hyderabad by 36 points in a harmless group championship game.

Brief Notes

AT THE TOP 245/9 (Rinku Singh 75, Harshal Patel 3/56). Haryana 167 in 38.5 overs (Harshal Patel 67, Ankit Rajpoot 5/33). UP won by 78 runs.

Delhi 201/8 (Anuj Rawat 45, Jaydev Unadkat 2/26). Saurashtra 204/6 (Prerak Mankad 73, Mayank Yadav 3/57). Saurashtra won by 4 wickets.

Jharkhand 276 (Virat Singh 65, Chama Milind 6/63). Hyderabad 240 (Varun Aaron 3/50, Shahbaz Nadeem 3/32). Jharkhand won by 36 points.

Get all IPL and Cricket Score news here

Comments are closed.